Johnstown Castle can trace its origins back to a medieval tower house held by the Esmondes although the present Gothic Revival fantasy is a masterpiece of the nineteenth-century architect, Daniel Robertson (d. 1849), working for the Grogan Morgans. A restoration of the castle is being planned by the Irish Heritage Trust and access to the interior is presently not permitted. Visitors to Johnstown Castle can nevertheless enjoy what is a remarkably intact planned estate with a series of pathways winding around two artificial lakes. Highlights of the estate include the walled garden, picturesque turrets dotting the grounds, and a sunken “terrace garden”. The stable yard is home to the Irish Agricultural Museum and the Peacock Tea Room.