Erected for Robert Rochfort (d. 1774), first Earl of Belvedere, the Palladian Belvedere House is acknowledged as a masterpiece of Richard Castle (d. 1751). The interior, open to the public, is distinguished by superb Rococo plasterwork attributable to the French stuccadore Barthelemy Cramillion (fl. 1755-72). Restored by Westmeath County Council in conjunction with Fáilte Ireland and the Great Gardens of Ireland Restoration Fund, the wooded grounds boast an array of ornamental follies including the renowned “Jealous Wall”, a sham medieval ruin thrown up to obliterate the view of the neighbouring Tudenham Park, the property of Lord Belvedere’s brother George, during a long-standing family feud.
Click here to view the Belvedere House and Gardens website