Westport House has welcomed over four million visitors since it was opened to the public in 1960. Designed by Richard Castle (d. 1751), the celebrated neo-Palladian architect, Westport House boasts a vaulted entrance hall regarded as Castle’s most important surviving domestic interior. In the staircase hall beyond are large paintings of local scenes by George Moore and James Arthur O’Connor (1792-1841). The dining room features delicate plasterwork designed by James Wyatt (1746-1813) of London. His son, Benjamin Deane Wyatt (1775-1855), was responsible for remodelling the adjoining long gallery where paintings of generations of the Brownes reward the enthusiast of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century portraiture. Over thirty rooms are open to the public. Visitors to Westport House can also enjoy leisurely walks through the estate where pathways skirt Westporthouse Lough giving tantalising glimpses of ClewBay and Croagh Patrick.