Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest

Architectural, Artistic

Original Use


In Use As

Apartment/flat (converted)


1870 - 1890


315439, 232711

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Terraced two-bay two-storey house over raised basement, built c. 1880, having full-height canted-bay to front. Pitched slate roof with red brick chimneystacks having decorative stringcourses and dentillated caps, clay pots. Corbelled yellow brick eaves course. Cast-iron rainwater goods. Red brick, laid in Flemish bond, to walls. Granite plinth course and channelled rendered wall to basement. Segmental-headed window openings with granite sills having one-over-one pane timber sliding sash windows. Round-headed door opening having carved timber doorcase comprising stepped cornice, carved console brackets with foliate detail, and panelled pilasters. Square-headed basement door opening. Part-glazed timber panelled doors having leaded stained glass, plain overlights. Granite platform and nosed steps having decorative cast-iron handrails and posts with barley-twist detail on granite plinth wall. Wrought-iron pedestrian gate having matching railings on granite plinth wall to front.


This former house retains much of its original form, and is characteristic of suburban residential design of the mid-nineteenth century. The façade is enhanced by the decorative polychrome eaves and canted-bay. The well-executed doorcase is a testament to the skill of Victorian carpentry, and this craftsmanship is also reflected by the quality of the metal work to the site. Harrington Street is a continuation of the South Circular Road which developed because of the opening of Portobello Harbour, located further to the east, in 1801. The range of nineteenth-century architectural styles lends the streetscape a unique and appealing character.