Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1850 - 1890
Attached two-bay single-storey former gate lodge, built c.1870, now in use as office. Pitched roof with red brick chimneystack, cast-iron rainwater goods, carved red brick eaves course, decorative timber bargeboards and finials to west gable. Red brick, laid in Flemish bond, to walls, with carved red brick string course. Oculus with red brick surround and timber framed window to apex of gable to west. Square-headed window openings with red brick voussoirs, granite sills and one-over-one pane timber sash windows. Painted masonry doorcase comprising pilasters supporting triangular pediment, surrounding double-leaf half-glazed timber panelled door.
The modest scale and form of this building is enhanced by aesthetically-pleasing detailing, which includes timber bargeboards and a well-executed doorcase. The red brick detailing is of technical interest and is testament to the skill of brickworkers in the closing decades of the nineteenth century. Early windows are retained, lending a patina of age, while its form and detailing are typical of a gate lodge. It is an interesting survivor from the Roe Distillery which occupied this site.