Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1810 - 1830
Terraced four-bay two-storey former pair of houses over concealed basement, built c.1820. Now in use as restaurants with residences above. Recent shopfront to No. 104 and historic, c.1900, shopfront to No. 103. Roof concealed behind rendered parapet with concrete coping over unified rendered façade. Rendered walls to front elevation having channelled render quoins. Square-headed window openings with rendered reveals and sills having replacement uPVC casement windows to first floor. Timber shopfront to No. 103 comprising fluted Ionic pilasters with capped and scrolled terminal brackets, architrave frieze and cornice, having recent fasciaboard surmounted by pediment housing figurative lion. Canted, central entrance bay housing square-headed door opening with glazed timber door and sidelights.
Despite a number of recent alterations, this unusually massed building makes an interesting contribution to the streetscape. Its four-bay massing is in keeping with the design of other late eighteenth-century buildings in this locale, while the truncated form and evidence of later unification adds variety as well as evidence of architectural development to the street. From at least the early to mid-nineteenth century (if not originally), this building served as a grocer and spirit dealer. It later fell into use as the iconic Blue Lion bar, c.1975, in keeping with its tradition of spirit dealing. Though not original to the building, the c.1900 shopfront of No. 103 is of a particularly interesting design, with the figurative lion within the pediment and stylised Ionic columns providing character to this diminutive building.