Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest


Original Use

Shop/retail outlet

In Use As

Shop/retail outlet


1915 - 1925


316068, 234535

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Terraced two-bay four-storey commercial building, built c.1920, with shopfront to ground floor. Flat roof hidden behind red brick parapet wall with granite coping and squat brick piers. Chimneystacks to both party walls. Red brick walls laid in Flemish bond with granite blocking course forming third floor lintel surmounted by deep moulded granite cornice and red brick pilasters framing upper levels with moulded recessed panels and granite capital mouldings to parapet cornice. Gauged brick flat-arch window openings with granite sills and single-pane timber sliding sash windows throughout. Replacement shopfront to ground floor with large display window and terrazzo steps to entrance.


The building was built to replace a house destroyed during the 1916 Rising and respects the traditional parapet height and plot ratio of the former structure. Its modest fa├žade is enlivened and articulated by a deep granite cornice and red brick panelled pilasters, contributing to the rich heritage of early twentieth-century architecture that now characterizes this streetscape.