Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1915 - 1920
Terraced three-bay four-storey public house, built 1917-19, designed by Laurence McDonnell. Flat roof behind red brick parapet having stone coping, cast-iron downwater pipes to east. Red brick walling laid down in Flemish bond, projecting moulded stone modillion cornice to third floor level, moulded string course to second floor. Diminishing gauged brick flat-arched window openings with granite keystones and sills, six-over-six pane timber sliding sashes to third floor central window opening within moulded stone surround. Square-headed openings to second floor having granite sills, four-over-four pane timber sliding sashes to east and west bays, having aedicule over dressed stone surround to central bay with six-over-six pane timber sliding sash window. Square-headed window openings to first floor having shared stone sill course and one-over-one pane timber sliding sash windows. Central bay having triangular pediment and dressed stone surround. Tiled, marble and timber shopfront, inserted c.1990. Wrought-iron pole holds timber sign. Fronts onto pedestrianized street.
Named after the Earl of Drogheda, Viscount Henry Moore, North Earl Street was badly damaged in the fighting of the Easter Rising in 1916. Much of the street was rebuilt between 1917 and 1919 as retail premises in a classical style. Number 25 displays a great deal of attractive detailing within its front elevation and a high level of craftsmanship is demonstrated in the exuberant stonework which provides an attractive contrast to the red brick standing as s testament to skillful design of the architect. The variety of the fenestration contributes greatly to its appeal. The heavy modillion cornice is a design element which is repeated in North Earl Street to great effect. The timber and mosaic shopfront is comparatively recent but contributes to the character of the composition and enlivens the streetscape.