Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1915 - 1920
Terraced three-bay four-storey commercial premises, built 1917-19, to designs by George L. O'Connor. Double-pile hipped slate roof behind granite parapet having granite triangular pediment with acroteria, cast-iron rainwater goods to west. Stepped granite cornice course, red brick walling laid down in Flemish Bond, four giant Ionic order engaged pilasters surmounted by stepped frieze, first floor entirely in channelled rusticated granite. Square-headed window openings within moulded stone surrounds, having corbelled granite window sills, recessed aprons and keystones, holding timber casement windows. Double-height oriel window to central bay of first and second floors, having timber casement windows to second floor and fixed timber framed windows to first floor. Recent timber shopfront to ground floor level flanked by engaged granite pilasters terminating in projecting consoles having carved swags and curved caps holding engraved letters ‘R’. Square-headed central door opening with recent automatic sliding doors opening onto tiled porch.
Named after the Earl of Drogheda, Viscount Henry Moore, North Earl Street was badly damaged in the fighting of the Easter Rising in 1916. Much of the street was rebuilt between 1917 and 1919 as retail premises in a classical style. Number 28 has much attractive detailing to its front elevation. A high level of craftsmanship is demonstrated in the stonework which provides an attractive contrast to the red brick and is testament to skillful design by the architect, George L. O’Connor. The double-height oriel window is repeated in other facades in North Earl Street and contributes to the variety of the streetscape.