Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1865 - 1875
End-of-terrace three-bay single-storey house with dormer floor, dated 1870, having projecting gabled porch to front elevation, and timber shopfront inserted to west end of ground floor. Now in use as private house and shop. Pitched slate roof with slate ridge tiles, decorative timber fascia and bargeboards and finials, red brick chimneystack, and cast-iron rainwater goods. Dressed limestone walls with tooled limestone quoins. Painted stone date plaque with raised 'B', '1870' and crown motif over front entrance. Square-headed window openings, ground floor having raised hammer-dressed surround and sill, with replacement timber windows throughout. Square-headed door opening with replacement timber door.
This picturesque and well constructed stone cottage forms part of landlord-directed town improvements. It has a well executed façade and an interesting date plaque, representative of fine craftsmanship. The house is part of a particularly interesting grouping formerly called Weymouth Cottages.