Survey Data

Reg No

41310008


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Social Technical


Original Use

Weighbridge/weighhouse


Date

1860 - 1865


Coordinates

284045, 303903


Date Recorded

06/11/2011


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Detached single-bay single-storey former toll house, dated 1861. Located in former marketplace. Pitched slate roof having tooled stone fleur-de-lys finials, cut-stone copings, and cast-iron rainwater goods. Exposed random squared sandstone walls with tooled sandstone skew-putts, armorial and date plaque to east elevation, and smooth raised quoins. Square-headed window openings having chamfered tooled sandstone surrounds and label-mouldings, stone sills and barred four-over-four pane timber sliding sash windows with ogee horns. Tudor-arch door opening having chamfered tooled sandstone surround, label-moulding and replacement timber door. Set in forecourt of recent shopping centre, facing onto Main Street.

Appraisal

This small-scale picturesque building forms an integral part of the former marketplace, standing across the street from the market buildings in Carrickmacross. It was built by the Shirley estate, as displayed by the armorial plaque and date. Its architecture and detailing linking it with other estate buildings around the town. The Tudor-style detailing, with label-mouldings and typical doorway, enhances this modest building.