Categories of Special Interest
1775 - 1760
Freestanding two-bay gable-fronted former Church of Ireland church, built in 1776, vestry built 1869, now a ruin. Roof gone, remains of cast-iron rainwater goods. Roughcast rendered walls, chamfered roughcast plinth, scar of former vestry to north elevation, remains of ashlar stone verges to west gable. Round-headed window openings, remains of timber windows, timber intersecting bar-tracery window to east gable, flush rendered surrounds and ashlar stone sills. Square-headed door opening to west gable with flush rendered surrounds. Lined-and-ruled rendered walls, with remains of torus moulding to east window reveals. Church set back from road, approached by yew lined path, graveyard to west and south with gravemarkers from 1869 to 1934; random rubble stone boundary wall with concrete coping; wrought and cast-iron double gates on angled rubble stone piers with chamfered rubble stone plinth and yellow brick quoins surmounted by projecting chamfered concrete cap; second gateway to west with wrought-iron carriage gate on angled rubble stone piers with chamfered rubble stone plinth and yellow brick quoins surmounted by projecting chamfered concrete cap.
Although now a ruin, this former church survives as a picturesque reminder of almost two hundred years of religious worship and burial. The survival of the yew avenue enhances its character in the landscape.