Survey Data

Reg No

40825003


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Technical


Original Use

Bridge


In Use As

Bridge


Date

1760 - 1800


Coordinates

176919, 411526


Date Recorded

29/09/2010


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Triple-arch bridge carrying road over the Dunglow River, built c. 1760 and altered c. 1860, having V-profile rubble stone cutwaters to central piers to both upstream and downstream elevations. Widened to the east side, c. 1860. Segmental-headed arches having roughly dressed and squared rubble granite voussoirs; rubble granite construction to arch barrels. Rubble granite construction to piers, abutments, spandrels and parapets; mildly rock-faced granite coping to parapets. Cement capping over cutwaters to the west elevation. Tarmacadam deck with footpath to the west side. Water pipe to the west elevation with cast-iron mechanism built into west parapet. Located to the north end of Main Street to the centre of Dunglow (An Clochán Liath).

Appraisal

This appealing triple-arched road bridge retains much its early character and form, and is an appealing feature in streetscape to the north of the centre of Dunglow (An Clochán Liath). It is robustly-constructed in local rubble granite masonry, and its continued survival and use stands as testament to the quality of its original construction, and of the skill of the masons involved. The use of mildly rock-faced coping to the parapets creates an appealing, almost rustic appearance. This bridge was altered c. 1860 (widened to the east), and the coping to the parapets may have been added around this time. This bridge probably dates to the mid-eighteenth century, a period when the road network was improved by the Grand Juries (forerunners of the County Council) with the subsequent construction of many bridges. A bridge is depicted here on the 1777-83 Taylor and Skinner map of the local area, which is more than likely this bridge. It was possibly originally built using funds (or partially using funds) from the Conyngham family, the landowners of large parts of this part of Donegal during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This appealing bridge is a landmark feature on the streetscape of Ramelton, and is an integral element of the built heritage and transport heritage of the local area.