Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest

Archaeological, Architectural

Original Use


In Use As



1500 - 1700


260834, 438645

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Single-arched bridge carrying road over Bredagh Glen River, built c. 1600. Segmental-headed arch with roughly dressed stone voussoirs; squared rubble stone construction to arch barrel. Rubble stone construction to spandrels and abutments. Rubble stone construction to parapets with rubble stone coping over. Carries approach avenue to Gulladuff House over river. Located to the north-west of the centre of Moville and to the south of former milling complex (40809061).


This impressive and elegant single-arch bridge retains its original form and character, and is an appealing feature in the landscape to the north-west of Buncrana. It is robustly-constructed in local squared rubble stone masonry, and its continued survival and use stands as testament to the quality of its original construction, and of the skill of the masons involved. The single wide graceful arch and the humpbacked form are features of some technical and engineering merit. The narrow profile of this bridge and its general form suggest that this bridge is early, perhaps c. 1600. It has sometimes been dated to the medieval period although this seems likely. According to local tradition this bridge carried an early road from the important archaeological site at nearby Cooley (RMP DG021--008001-).