Survey Data

Reg No

31956005


Rating

National


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural, Historical, Social, Technical


Original Use

Fortification


Date

1810 - 1820


Coordinates

196498, 225418


Date Recorded

15/08/2003


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Tete-de-pont with glacis, redoubts and caponniere, constructed in 1810, with barracks added in 1814. Completed in 1817. Random coursed stone ramparts with cut stone quoins, built to a triangular plan with corner bastions. Segmental-headed gun loop openings to redoubts. Detached twelve-bay three-storey former military barracks with random coursed cut stone walls. Replacement timber sash windows, doors and overlights. Gunloops to rear. Single-storey stone outbuildings to north. Detached three-bay single-storey former officers mess, now used as a private house. Fortification built along axis of bridge to east and is partially bisected by road.

Appraisal

Built at a strategic point on the River Shannon to defend against a possible French invasion, this bridgehead fortification is of great historic significance and is unique within Ireland and Britain. Its defences included redoubts with gun loop openings, a caponniere, which was a vaulted structure designed to be bomb proof, batteries and earthworks known as glacis, which sloped to expose attackers to fire. Not only is this structure historically significant, it is a testament to the endeavours of military engineers.