Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Historical, Technical
In Use As
Heritage centre/interpretative centre
1720 - 1740
Detached circular-plan three-stage windmill, built c.1730, and restored in 1996. Thatched rye rotating roof with four timber sails. Timber tail pole connected to roof and resting on cart wheel to ground, used to direct the sail. Fixed pane glass to upper storey windows. Timber battened doors to both entrances. Modern single-storey ''Windmill Cottage'' to south of mill in use as visitor's centre.
This early-eighteenth century fully-restored wind mill is a credit to the town of Elphin. It stands as a reminder of when the mill, thought to have been originally built by local landowner and Bishop of Elphin, Edward Synge, provided meal for the local population. By 1830 the mill was in ruins. It was sympathetically restored under a three-year project by the FÁS scheme. It is an interesting and rare structure of architectural heritage and is a captivating landmark.