Survey Data

Reg No

31306309


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Artistic Historical Scientific Social


Original Use

Church/chapel


In Use As

Church/chapel


Date

1875 - 1880


Coordinates

154313, 300429


Date Recorded

08/11/2010


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Detached six-bay double-height Catholic church, built 1877; opened 1877; extant 1895, on a cruciform plan comprising four-bay double-height nave opening into single-bay (single-bay deep) double-height transepts centred on single-bay double-height chancel to crossing (south-east). Extensively renovated, 1970[?], with sanctuary reordered. Pitched slate roof on a cruciform plan with roll moulded clay ridge tiles terminating in tooled limestone ashlar buttressed gabled bellcote to apex to entrance (north-west) front framing embossed cast-bronze bell, and cast-iron rainwater goods on box eaves retaining cast-iron downpipes. Repointed snecked rock faced rubble stone walls with benchmark-inscribed drag edged tooled hammered limestone flush quoins to corners including drag edged tooled hammered limestone buttresses to corners to entrance (north-west) front having drag edged tooled cut-limestone "slated" coping. Lancet window openings with repointed drag edged tooled hammered limestone block-and-start surrounds having chamfered reveals framing storm glazing over fixed-pane fittings having stained glass margins centred on square leaded glazing bars. Paired lancet window openings to transepts with repointed drag edged tooled hammered limestone block-and-start surrounds having chamfered reveals framing storm glazing over fixed-pane fittings having stained glass margins centred on leaded stained glass panels. Lancet "Trinity Window" to chancel (south-east) with repointed drag edged tooled hammered limestone block-and-start surrounds having chamfered reveals framing storm glazing over fixed-pane fittings having leaded stained glass panels. Paired lancet window openings to entrance (north-west) front with repointed drag edged tooled hammered limestone block-and-start surrounds having chamfered reveals framing storm glazing over fixed-pane fittings having stained glass margins centred on leaded stained glass panels. Pointed-arch door openings to transepts with repointed drag edged tooled cut- or hammered limestone block-and-start surrounds having chamfered reveals framing timber boarded or tongue-and-groove timber panelled double doors. Full-height interior remodelled, 1970[?], with dragged cut-limestone stoups (north-west), carpeted central aisle between timber pews, paired stations between stained glass memorial windows (undated) with round-headed arches to transepts framing paired stained glass memorial windows (undated), and pointed-arch chancel arch framing herring bone-pattern timber parquet stepped dais to crossing (south-east) with carpeted stepped "predella" supporting Gothic-style altar (1884) below stained glass memorial "Trinity Window" (undated). Set in landscaped grounds including priests' burial ground with collection of seven Celtic High Cross-style markers, ob. 1919-68.

Appraisal

A church representing an integral component of the later nineteenth-century built heritage of County Mayo with the architectural value of the composition confirmed by such attributes as the cruciform plan form, aligned along a skewed liturgically-correct axis; the rock faced surface finish offset by "sparrow pecked" sheer limestone dressings demonstrating good quality workmanship; the slender profile of the openings underpinning a "medieval" Gothic theme with the chancel defined by an elegant "Trinity Window"; and the handsome bellcote embellishing the roofline as a picturesque eye-catcher in the landscape. Having been reasonably well maintained, the elementary form and massing survive intact together with quantities of the historic or original fabric, both to the exterior and to the interior drastically reordered (1970) in accordance with the liturgical reforms sanctioned by the Second Ecumenical Council of the Vatican (1962-5) where vibrant stained glass including the thirteenth-century French Gothic-style Owens-Phillips and Harpey-Nolan Memorial Windows (undated); a much modified altar consecrated (1884) by Reverend Francis McCormack (1833-1909), Bishop of Achonry (fl. 1875-87); and the jewel-like Morrisroe Memorial "Trinity Window" (undated), all highlight the artistic potential of a church forming part of a neat self-contained group alongside the diagonally opposing parochial house (see 31306310) with the resulting ecclesiastical ensemble making a pleasing visual statement in a rural village setting: meanwhile, a discreet benchmark remains of additional interest for the connections with cartography and the preparation of maps by the Ordnance Survey (established 1824).