Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1760 - 1800
Detached four-bay two-storey house, built c.1780 and extensively remodelled c.1930. Hipped slate roof with ridge tiles, cast-iron rainwater goods and rendered chimneystack. Roughcast render to walls. Entrance porch with glazed timber door attached to east end of facade. Single and double timber sash and replacement uPVC windows with stone sills. Cast-iron pump to west wall. Site bounded by random stone wall, rendered piers and cast-iron gates. Piers with cast-iron gates to coach house, erected c.1860.
Although this house has been extensively remodelled, it continues to be significant due to its historical association with the O'Beirne family. It is part of a group of former demesne structures, which were built by Hugh O'Beirne, a campaigner for Catholic Relief leading up to the Rebellion of 1798. The adjacent former coach house, outbuildings, lodge, walls and gates add a further dimension to the site and highlight its former importance within the townscape of Jamestown. The cast-iron gates leading to the coach house are of artistic and technical merit. Decorated with anthemion heads, they appear to be unique n the locality.