Categories of Special Interest
Archaeological, Architectural, Artistic, Historical, Social
In Use As
1730 - 1735
Detached five-bay double-height single-cell Church of Ireland church, built 1733 - 1734, on a corner site incorporating fabric of earlier church, c.1200, on site. Now in use as community centre. Pitched slate roof with clay ridge tiles, rendered chimney stack, cut-stone coping having cross finial to apex, and cast-iron rainwater goods on profiled rendered eaves. Unpainted rendered walls over random rubble stone construction with exposed random rubble stone construction to part west elevation incorporating outline of rubble red sandstone doorcase (pointed-arch) having cut-stone plaque. Round-headed window openings with moulded cut-stone sills, and cut-limestone surrounds having keystones. 1/1 timber sash windows with fixed-pane timber windows to east in bipartite arrangement having round heads and oculus over. Square-headed door opening with moulded cut-limestone surround having triangular pediment over on consoles, and studded timber double doors with overpanel. Road fronted on a corner site with section of wrought iron railings to front.
An attractive, single-cell church of simple appearance, which has been well maintained and which retains its original form and fabric, despite a subsequent change of use. The site is of archaeological significance, incorporating the fabric of an earlier medieval church in the present structure. The present church is distinguished by an ornamental doorcase, which attests to high quality local craftsmanship. Set on a corner site, fronting on to two lanes, the church is an imposing and picturesque feature in the townscape of Waterford City.