Survey Data

Reg No

21900302


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Archaeological, Architectural, Social, Technical


Original Use

Quay/wharf


In Use As

Quay/wharf


Date

1900 - 1905


Coordinates

135828, 157006


Date Recorded

12/10/2008


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

L-plan limestone quay, built in 1904, incorporating pier to west and slipway to east. Rusticated snecked limestone retaining walls, with limestone slipway. Parapet wall to west elevation of pier, having inscribed limestone date plaque. Cast-iron mooring bollards to east and north elevations. Slate and limestone seat built into west parapet wall. Segmental-arched opening to west elevation with limestone voussoirs. Steps to entrance. Limestone bollards to east of quay, cast-iron bench set in surface.

Appraisal

This pier and slipway, situated on the south shore of the Shannon estuary, once served an important function in transport and industry in this area and are a notable physical reminder of this history. The site remains in good condition and retains much of its original form and fabric, a testament to its original robust construction. The date plaque reads: 'Beagh Quay built 1904 / John Horan M.E.M. INST. C.E./County Surveyor/Michael Naughton/County Councillor/William O'Neill Contractor/John Downes Foreman'. Foundry where cast-iron mooring bollards were cast was H. Lee & Sons Engineers Limerick. The adjacent tower house and attendant structures and remains of a battery add to the archaeological context of the site.