1780 - 1820
Detached three-bay single-storey former gate lodge, built c.1800, with central projecting bay and recent rear (north) extensions. Oversailing hipped slate roof with red brick chimneystack and cast-iron rainwater goods. Plain pediment to projecting bay. Exposed rubble stone walls. Square-headed openings with paired Tudor arch fixed pane windows, concrete sills and label mouldings. Round-headed door opening with timber panelled door having decorative Tudor Revival detailing and fanlight, flanked by panelled pilasters with moulded cornice above. Terracotta tiles to porch. Enclosed by timber fencing and gate.
This picturesque gate lodge, marking the entrance into the former Glengarriff Demesne, originally formed part of a significant group of structures belonging to Richard White, who became the first Earl of Bantry in 1816. Through sympathetic refurbishment the lodge retains much of its original character.