Survey Data

Reg No

20851029


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Artistic Social


Original Use

House


In Use As

House


Date

1740 - 1780


Coordinates

163856, 50513


Date Recorded

04/03/2009


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Corner-sited end-of-terrace two-bay three-storey house, built c.1760, having two-bay two-storey with dormer attic return to rear. Now also in use as restaurant. Pitched artificial slate roof with rendered chimneystack and cast-iron rainwater goods. Rendered walls with chamfered corner to south-west. Square-headed openings with replacement uPVC windows. Bow fronted timber shopfront inserted to ground floor, comprising multiple pane fixed display windows set over rendered stall risers, flanking timber glazed door and overlight, with fascia and moulded cornice above.

Appraisal

Set on a corner site, this building occupies a prominent position in the town. Though altered by the insertion of uPVC windows, this building's steeply pitched roof is characteristic of eighteenth century construction. The attractive bow fronted shopfront is an early nineteenth century insertion and is a charming addition to the streetscape. The building forms part of a significant core with the adjoining buildings and the other historic buildings in the surrounding area.