Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1850 - 1870
Attached two-bay three-storey former house with pair of gablets, built c. 1860, with timber shopfront to front (south) elevation. Now in use as a shop. Pitched slate roof with rendered chimneystack. Rendered walls with cornice to gablets. Square-headed openings having replacement uPVC windows. Those to second floor having painted sills, continuous render sill course to first floor. Timber shopfront comprising pilasters with consoles, cornice and fascia. Square-headed fixed display windows. Square-headed opening with overlight and timber panelled door.
Built as a pair with the adjoining building, this pair is distinguished in the streetscape by its unusual form with paired gablets. Though some historic fabric has been lost, the prominent position of the pair, leading to the charming rounded building to the east, makes it a significant contributor to the streetscape.