Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1810 - 1830
Terraced single-bay four-storey former bow-fronted house, built c. 1820, now in use as retail outlet. Bow removed, altered to ground floor and replacement shopfront inserted, c. 1970. Hipped tile roof with rendered parapet and dormer addition. Rendered walls. Replacement aluminium windows and doors.
Though many interesting features and materials have been replaced, this building remains a significant contributor to the architectural heritage of the city. Historical photographs of the city show the façade of this building was formerly bow-fronted. Bow-fronted facades are a notable feature of Georgian architecture in Cork city, and they contribute to the unique character of the city, as this particular housing form is not found to the same extent elsewhere in Ireland.