Survey Data

Reg No

20512286


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural


Original Use

House


In Use As

Workshop


Date

1870 - 1890


Coordinates

167556, 72284


Date Recorded

19/09/1995


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Terraced three-bay three-storey former house with integral carriage arch, built c. 1880, now partly in use as garage. Pitched slate roof with rendered chimneystack. Rendered walls with render label mouldings over first floor windows. Timber sash windows to upper floors. Remains of timber shopfront to ground floor.

Appraisal

The scale and form of this building make it a positive contributor to the streetscape. This former house retains many interesting features and materials, such as the slate roof and timber sash windows. The label mouldings enliven the regular fa├žade of this building. This area retains many mid nineteenth-century three-storey terraced houses, which contribute to the unique character of this part of the city.