Survey Data

Reg No

16302044


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Social


Original Use

Shop/retail outlet


In Use As

Assembly rooms


Date

1865 - 1875


Coordinates

322392, 217258


Date Recorded

26/06/2003


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Terraced single-bay two storey gable-fronted former shop, built c.1870, now an Ancient Order of Hibernians hall, with painted brick and render fa├žade and large shopfront. The ground front is dominated by the shopfront which has a large multiple-pane window and timber and glazed double door and fanlight all encased with panelled jambs with decorative consul brackets. Rusticated render around shopfront. The first floor level is in painted brick and has a single flat-headed window with mullioned and transomed timber frame. Decorative bargeboards. The gabled roof is slated and has a rendered chimneystack with octagonal pots. Velux window.

Appraisal

Memorable gabled-fronted terraced Ancient Order of Hibernians hall which appears to have begun life as a shop, c.1870. Generally well preserved late Victorian shopfront with decorative bargeboards lending the building the characteristic picturesque Enniskerry feel.