Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest


Original Use


Historical Use

Shop/retail outlet

In Use As



1865 - 1885


297073, 139910

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Terraced single-bay two-storey house with dormer attic, c.1875, possibly incorporating fabric of earlier house, pre-1840, on site with 'shopfront' to ground floor. Now entirely in residential use. One of a group of four. Pitched (shared) slate roof with terracotta ridge tiles, rendered (shared) chimney stacks having capping supporting pots, rooflights, and cast-iron rainwater goods on rendered eaves having iron ties. Rendered, ruled and lined walls with iron tie bars to first floor. Square-headed window openings with cut-stone sills, and two-over-two timber sash windows. 'Shopfront' to ground floor with fixed-pane (three-light) timber window on chamfered sill incorporating one-over-one timber sash central light, iron hanging display bar, cut-granite step supporting cut-stone padstones, tongue-and-groove timber panelled door having overlight, and lintel over. Interior with tongue-and-groove timber panelled reveals to window opening to ground floor. Street fronted with concrete brick cobbled footpath to front.


A picturesque small-scale house built as one of a group of four identical units retaining the simple architectural attributes together with most of the original fabric, both to the exterior and to the interior including a traditional Irish shopfront of some urban vernacular quality, thus making a positive contribution to the streetscape character of Cathedral Street.