1815 - 1835
Terraced single-bay three-storey house, c.1825. Renovated, pre-1992, with replacement shopfront inserted to ground floor. Pitched slate roof with clay ridge tiles, rendered chimney stack, and iron rainwater goods on rendered eaves having iron ties. Rendered, ruled and lined walls. Square-headed window openings with cut-stone sills, eight-over-eight (first floor) and four-over-four (top floor) timber sash windows. Elliptical-headed door opening siphoned, pre-1992, with carved timber surround, and fixed-pane display window, pre-1992, retaining fanlight. Replacement timber shopfront, pre-1992, to ground floor with fixed-pane display window, glazed timber door having overlight, fascia having fluted consoles, and lined cornice. Street fronted with concrete footpath to front.
A picturesque house of small to modest size making a pleasing impression in Main Street South on account of attributes including the slender vertical emphasis of the massing, the diminishing in scale of the openings on each floor in the Classical manner producing a graduated visual effect, the understated surface articulation, and so on. Having been reasonably well maintained, the house continues to project an early aspect with the elementary form and massing surviving in place together with most of the historic or original fabric, thereby upholding the status as an important element of the early nineteenth-century built heritage of the locality.