Survey Data

Reg No

15402735


Rating

Regional


Categories of Special Interest

Architectural Social Technical


Original Use

Bridge


In Use As

Bridge


Date

1800 - 1810


Coordinates

259172, 249731


Date Recorded

27/10/2004


Date Updated

--/--/--


Description

Single-arch canal bridge carrying road over Royal Canal, built c.1805. Constructed of dressed limestone with ashlar limestone detailing including a projecting string course at parapet base level/road level and ashlar coping over parapet walls. Located to the southeast of Killucan.

Appraisal

A typically well-built canal bridge, which is a valuable part of the architectural heritage of Westmeath and the industrial heritage of Ireland. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in fine stone masonry, which is testament to the long term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century. The use of locally sourced material gives it a distinctive visual appeal and helps to integrate this feature into the local landscape. It is named after the D'arcy Family of nearby Hyde Park House (15402736).