Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Social, Technical
In Use As
1800 - 1810
Single-arched aqueduct carrying Royal Canal over Riverstown River, built c.1806. Constructed of ashlar limestone with ashlar limestone voussoirs to arch. No parapet walls. Located to the west of McNead’s bridge and to the southeast of Mullingar.
A typically well-built feature associated with the Royal Canal, which is a valuable part of the architectural heritage of Westmeath and the industrial heritage of Ireland. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in fine stone masonry, which is testament to the long term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century.