Categories of Special Interest
Lock keeper's house
1805 - 1815
Detached three-bay single-storey canal lock keeper's house, built c.1810. Now out of use. Hipped natural slate roof with projecting stone eaves course, cast-iron rainwater goods and a central rendered chimneystack. Roughcast rendered walls over rubble limestone construction. Square-headed window openings, set in recessed round-headed arches, with cut stone sills and timber casement windows. Square-headed doorcase to centre, set in round-headed recessed round-headed arch, having battened timber double doors. Located adjacent to lock 38 (15401006). Storage shed to the southwest.
A charming and highly picturesque early nineteenth-century lock keeper's house, which retains its early character and form despite being out of use. The modest form of this building is enhanced by the recessed arches containing the openings, which helps to give this appealing structure the appearance of a gate lodge dating from the same period. The quality of the construction of this sturdy little building is indicative of the grandiose ambitions of the Royal Canal Company during the early part of the nineteenth century. Constructed by a single authority, it is not surprising that lock keeper's houses along the Royal Canal follow a standard plan. This lock keeper's house, long with the lock and canal, have been designed and constructed with a high level of expertise indicating the importance of their role in the past. It remains an important element of the architectural and industrial heritage of Westmeath. Forms part of an interesting group of structures with the associated lock (15401006).