Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest

Architectural, Social

Original Use



1830 - 1850


243458, 280461

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Freestanding single-cell church of unknown denomination, built c.1840, comprising two-bay hall with attached two-storey tower on square-plan to the west with a raised parapet having simple English-style crenellations. Now in ruins. Originally had pitched slate roof, now collapsed. Constructed of limestone rubble with lime render over, now failing. Pointed-arched openings, fittings now missing. Pointed arched doorcase to south face of tower. Located in the rural countryside to the east of Finnea. Bounded on roadside by rubble limestone wall having cut stone gate posts and wrought-iron gate to the south.


A curious small-scale church, now in ruins, which is now a feature of some picturesque and romantic appeal in the landscape to the east of Finnea. Its original denomination is not known but its form is reminiscent of a Board of First Fruits-type Church of Ireland church, dating from the first decades of the nineteenth century, albeit on a much reduced and more modest scale. This church is not indicated on the first edition map of the area (1837-8), making it quite late for a Church of Ireland church. Lewis (1837) records that 'an application has been made to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for aid in the erection of a church (at Favaron), and Lord Longford has guaranteed to advance the whole amount required by the Commissioners to be subscribed'. Perhaps this modest scale church was the result of this application, if successful, as there is no other Church of Ireland church in close proximity. It remains an interesting and modest addition to the architectural heritage of Westmeath.