Categories of Special Interest
Shannon Harbour Hotel
1800 - 1810
Detached seven-bay three-storey over basement former hotel, built in 1806, with pedimented central stepped breakfront. Now in a ruinous state. Set back from canal side. Roofless with cast-iron rainwater goods. Pebbledash render to walls with limestone string and eaves courses. Limestone quoins to ground floor of breakfront. Window openings with tooled limestone sills. Windows to breakfront set in round-headed recesses. Oculus to pediment with limestone surround may have held a clock. Segmental-headed door opening with tooled limestone keystone. Door accessed by seven stone steps. Site bounded to front by roughly coursed limestone wall with limestone coping. Outbuildings to rear. Access to rear through wrought-iron gates to ashlar gate piers.
Though now derelict, the original design features that have been retained suggest the former grandeur of this domineering building. Completed in 1806, The Grand Hotel, in its heyday, served the purpose-built village of Shannon Harbour, which was designed, constructed and operated as a trans-shipping centre of the Grand Canal. At its peak 250,000 people would have passed through Shannon Harbour. Physical evidence of which survives in the remains of the hotel and its associated structures. It now stands as a ghostly reminder of times past.