Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Historical, Technical
1850 - 1860
Detached eight-bay three-storey former mill, built in 1853, with derelict outbuildings to north. Now disused. Set back from street. Pitched slate roof with ruled-and-lined chimneystacks and some cast-iron rainwater goods. Roughcast render to walls. Segmental-headed window openings with blocked windows. Front site bounded by plinth wall with cut stone coping and cast-iron railings. Rear yard bounded by rendered-wall with corrugated-iron gates to ashlar piers with wheel guards.
Built by the Goodbody family, this mill is the sole surviving structure of an extensive mill complex along the banks of the Brosna. The Goodbody's first began operations in Clara in 1826, and built extensively. One of their mills was burnt down in 1918, which could possibly have been the buildings shown to the rear of this structure on the Ordnance Survey map. Although now in a dilapidated state of repair, this building remains structurally sound and attests to the building skills at the time of construction. This proud building stands as a reflection of the industrial heritage of Clara, once a thriving industrial town.