Categories of Special Interest
Architectural, Historical, Technical
Larch Hill House
In Use As
1800 - 1840
Farmyard complex, c.1820, comprising a southern and a northern courtyard, both to the north of the main house. The southern courtyard comprises three, roughly dressed rubble stone ranges, with pitched slate roofs, pointed openings having some cast-iron diamond paned windows, and timber sash windows with limestone sills set in square-headed openings. Open sided outbuilding to east. Northern courtyard comprises three roughly dressed rubble stone ranges, with pitched slate roofs and square-headed openings. Diamond and pointed openings to northern range. Pair of rubble stone round piers to site.
The variety of related outbuildings in this farmyard complex form an interesting and diverse group. Many of the outbuildings are of apparent architectural design, which create a picturesque ferme ornee. The survival of many original features and materials, such as slate roofs, timber sash windows, cast-iron windows, and ashlar limestone dressings enhance the significance of the group. This farmyard complex forms part of a larger group with the house, gate lodge, walled garden and follies, which were built by Robert Watson.