Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest

Architectural, Historical, Social

Previous Name

Carlingford Coastguard Station

Original Use

Coastguard station

Historical Use

Court house

In Use As

Garda station/constabulary barracks


1845 - 1850


318806, 311742

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Detached seven-bay two-storey former coastguard station, dated 1848, later used as courthouse and now in use as Garda Station. Rectangular main block, advanced gabled end bays to north and south, canted bay window to south-east, hipped return to south-west, porch to south, two-storey flat-roofed extension to north, lean-to extensions to south-west. Pitched slate roof, clay ridge tiles, red brick concrete capped chimneystacks, concrete bases to some stacks, painted timber bargeboards on exposed paired rafter ends to gables uPVC gutters, cast-iron downpipes. Painted smooth rendered walling, painted stone plinth. Square-headed window openings, painted stone sills, painted timber casement windows to first floor, six-over-six sliding sash windows to ground floor; eight-over-eight sliding sash window to canted bay flanked by two-over-two panes; round-headed window openings to first floor advanced bays, three-over-six sliding sash window with timber spoked fanlight to south, uPVC window to north; timber casement window to west. Square-headed door opening, raised render surround, painted timber ten-panel door, plain-glazed overlight, cast-iron boot scraper. Set in own grounds with grass to north, garden to west. Single-storey outbuilding to north-west, originally toilets and washroom, now a shed, painted stone walling, square-headed openings, timber vertically-sheeted door. Bounded to south, north and west by stone wall; painted roughcast wall to east, smooth rendered coping to north-east; painted ashlar limestone gate piers with pyramidal caps to north and south, wrought-iron gates; central painted smooth rendered gate piers.


Originally a coastguard station and later used as a courthouse, this current Garda Station has had a rich history at the centre of Carlingford life. Designed by Jacob Owens in the mid nineteenth century, it has retained its original form and much fabric despite a variety of functions. Especially pleasing is the survival of the varied fenestration.