Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest

Architectural, Technical

Original Use


In Use As



1815 - 1820


219306, 259003

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Single-arch humpbacked canal accommodation bridge carrying small road over Royal Canal, built c. 1815. Round/elliptical-headed arch with dressed ashlar limestone voussoirs and dressed ashlar limestone masonry to barrel. Squared rubble limestone construction to spandrel walls, partially rendered, with cut limestone string course at road/deck level. Squared rubble stone construction to parapets (partially rendered) with curving ends terminated in dressed ashlar limestone piers (on square-plan). Dressed limestone coping over parapet walls. Towpath to east bank of canal with dressed limestone retaining walls to canal banks (east and west). Located to the northeast of Ballymahon.


A typically well-built canal bridge, which is a valuable part of the extensive canal-related built and industrial heritage of County Longford. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in good-quality stone masonry, which is testament to the long-term ambitions of the Directors General of Inland Navigation (who took over responsibility for the Royal Canal following the dissolution of the Royal Canal Company in 1813) at the start of the nineteenth century. It was probably built to designs by John Killaly (1766 – 1832), the engineer responsible for the construction of the Royal Canal between Coolnahay to Cloondara, which started in 1814 and was completed in 1817 (28 years after the canal work was started in Dublin). The main contractors involved were Henry, Mullins and McMahon. This bridge is an interesting feature in the rural landscape to the northeast of Ballymahon and is an integral element of the built heritage of the local area.