Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1810 - 1820
Single-arch humpbacked canal accommodation bridge carrying farm access road over Royal Canal, built c. 1815. Round/elliptical-headed arch with dressed ashlar limestone voussoirs and dressed ashlar limestone masonry to barrel. Rubble stone construction to spandrel walls, formerly rendered, with cut limestone string course at road/deck level. Rubble stone construction to parapets, formerly rendered, with curving ends terminated in dressed ashlar limestone piers (on square-plan). Dressed limestone coping over parapet walls. Towpath to west bank of canal, going under bridge, with dressed limestone retaining walls to canal banks (north and south). Located to the southwest of Keenagh.
A typically well-built canal accommodation bridge, which is a valuable part of the extensive canal-related built and industrial heritage of County Longford. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in good-quality stone masonry, which is testament to the long-term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century. It was probably built to designs by John Killaly (1766 – 1832), the engineer responsible for the construction of the Royal Canal between Coolnahay to Cloondara, which started in 1814 and was completed in 1817 (28 years after the canal work was started in Dublin. The main contractors involved were Henry, Mullins and McMahon. Although the canal is currently disused, the towpath provides a recreational amenity and this bridge affords interesting views to the pedestrian as well as being a notable feature and landmark in the landscape, bringing architectural and historical interest to the rural landscape area to the southwest of Keenagh.