Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1835 - 1835
Single-arch canal bridge/aqueduct carrying Royal Canal (Longford Branch) over a tributary of the Fallan River, built c. 1829. Canal now dry and in use as a footpath/road for farm access. Elliptical-headed arch with stepped dressed ashlar limestone voussoirs and dressed limestone masonry to barrel. Squared and coursed limestone rubble spandrel walls; roughly dressed abutments. Modern timber fences to parapets. Located to the southwest of Longford Town.
A typically well-built canal bridge/aqueduct, which is a valuable part of the architectural and industrial heritage of County Longford. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in fine stone masonry, which is testament to the long-term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century. Although the canal is currently disused, the bridge/aqueduct now provides a recreational amenity as a walkway. This bridge/aqueduct forms part of an extensive collection of canal-related structures in County Longford, and is an integral element of the built heritage of the area.