Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1810 - 1820
Single-arch canal accommodation bridge carrying small road over Royal Canal, built c. 1817. Round/elliptical-headed arch with dressed limestone voussoirs and ashlar limestone walls. Cut limestone string course at road level. Dressed limestone parapets with curving ends terminated in dressed limestone piers (on square-plan). Replacement concrete blocks to south parapet wall, east end. Located to the east of Killashee. Limestone flagging to embankment.
A typically well-built canal accommodation bridge, which is a valuable part of the architectural and industrial heritage of County Longford. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in fine stone masonry, which is testament to the long-term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century. It was probably built to designs by John Killaly (1766 - 1832), the engineer responsible for the construction of the Royal Canal. This bridge forms part of a group of canal structures to the east of Killashee, along with the lock (13311010) and the associated lock keeper's house (13311011) and is an integral element of the built heritage of County Longford.