Categories of Special Interest
In Use As
1810 - 1820
Single-arch humpbacked canal bridge carrying road over Royal Canal, built c. 1817. Round/elliptical-headed arch with dressed limestone voussoirs and dressed limestone walls. Walls partially rendered. Cut limestone string course at road level. Dressed limestone parapets with curving ends terminated in dressed limestone piers (on square-plan). Rubble limestone steps with rubble limestone retaining wall to west side north elevation, giving access to harbour. Tow path to the west side with dressed limestone kerbing. Located to the south end of Richmond Harbour (13307014).
A typically well-built canal bridge, which is a valuable part of the architectural and industrial heritage of County Longford. Although humble in form, this structure has a simple and functional elegance. It is robustly built in fine stone masonry, which is testament to the long-term ambitions of the Royal Canal Company at the start of the nineteenth century. It was probably built to designs by John Killaly (1766 – 1832), the engineer responsible for the construction of the Royal Canal, including Richmond Harbour (13307014) itself. It is one of many canal structures in Cloondara, and makes a notable coherent scheme with Richmond Harbour, the dry dock, and the canal itself. Interestingly, it is one of three bridges in the town of Cloondara over three different waterways.