1780 - 1820
TOWNPARKS (ARDAGH BY.)
Weir on Camlin river, erected c. 1800. Composed of a series of coursed rock-faced limestone walls forming U-shaped cutwaters and channels. Located to the northeast of the centre of Longford Town centre.
This simple but well-built industrial relic originally formed part of a corn mill and possibly a distillery, now both demolished. It probably dates to the late-eighteenth or early-nineteenth century, which was a boom period for the Irish corn milling industry. Although it has long ceased to function the remains are technically important and are part of the industrial heritage of the area. Sites such as this are particularly vulnerable as their utilitarian nature makes them subject to extensive renovation or dismantling. The survival of these structures together with remaining mill wheel makes an interesting contribution to the architectural and industrial heritage of the town, and continues to have a picturesque impact. It forms part of a group of related structures along with the remains of the mill wheel and wheel chamber to the northwest (13002012) and the former industrial building (13002058) located to the south bank of the River Camlin.