Categories of Special Interest
Archaeological, Architectural, Historical, Social
In Use As
1450 - 1550
Attached two-bay three-stage rubble stone fortified tower house, c.1500, probably originally detached with square-headed carriageway to left ground floor. Now in use as guesthouse. Roof not visible behind parapet (originally having taller parapet incorporating corner bartizan with parapet dismantled, post-1915). Ivy-clad random rubble stone walls with cut-stone stringcourse to parapet. Pointed-arch window openings (some paired; some slit-style) with cut-limestone surrounds having chamfered reveals, and fixed-pane fittings. Square-headed carriageway to left ground floor repaired with replacement cut-limestone lintel, and replacement tongue-and-groove timber panelled double doors. Road fronted with concrete footpath to front.
A medieval fortified house forming an important element of the archaeological heritage of Thomastown. Converted to accommodate an alternative function the continued use of the building has ensured that much of the historic fabric of the composition remains in place. The tower house together with an adjacent range of similarly early vintage (12317073/KK-28-17-73) represents a picturesque landmark significantly enhancing the visual appeal of Low Street.