Survey Data

Reg No




Categories of Special Interest


Original Use



1815 - 1835


268506, 153718

Date Recorded


Date Updated



Detached five-bay three-storey over basement warehouse, c.1825, originally on an L-shaped plan with two-bay three-storey side elevations. Now disused. Pitched slate roof clay ridge tiles, roughcast chimney stack having chamfered coping, and remains of cast-iron rainwater goods on squared rubble limestone eaves. Remains of unpainted roughcast lime rendered walls over random rubble limestone construction with S-profile iron tie bars, and dressed limestone quoins to corners. Square-headed window openings with cut-limestone sills, timber lintels to ground floor, and dressed limestone voussoirs to remainder having red brick voussoirs to top floor (now blocked-up with concrete block infill). Square-headed door opening approached by iron platform over open basement with lintel, and tongue-and-groove timber panelled door. Set in own grounds perpendicular to road on bank overlooking River Barrow.


A middle-size warehouse representing an important element of the architectural heritage of Goresbridge and the environs having had associations with the industrial legacy of the locality since the early nineteenth century. Despite having been decommissioned in the twentieth century the essential attributes survive in place together with much of the early fabric, thereby maintaining the integrity of the composition. Forming a neat group with the adjacent Gore's Bridge (12311002/KK-21-11-02) the resulting ensemble makes a picturesque visual statement at a crossing over the River Barrow.