1840 - 1845
Square-plan stepped profile monument, erected c.1842, having rubble stone, dressed granite plinth, limestone upper section comprising cut limestone plinth and ashlar limestone blockwork and pyramidal concrete cap. Recent carved limestone plaque to west elevation commemorating John D'Arcy (1785-1839), founder of Clifden. Various examples of graffiti dating from 1871 etched into limestone section. Located on peak of hill overlooking western end of town.
This eye-catching monument acts not only as a memorial to John D'Arcy the founder of Clifden but also as a focal point for visitors and locals people to observe the town and its setting within the wider landscape of Connemara, affording breathtaking views of the mountains, bogs and the coastline. The contrast of the local granite and non-local limestone is interesting.