1700 - 1740
Freestanding square-plan two-stage tower, built c. 1720, with crenellated parapet with dressed eaves course. Rubble limestone walls with dressed quoins and string course. Buttress to west. Square-headed opening with red brick surround to north. Square-headed openings with dressed limestone chamfered surrounds to east. Elliptical-arched opening with dressed limestone voussoirs and surround to west. Elliptical-arched openings to ground floor with dressed limestone voussoirs and metal gates. Carriage arch to north comprising dressed limestone walls and copings, with square-headed recess to west elevation, segmental arch with dressed limestone voussoirs.
Original headquarters of the 'Water Club', the first sailing club in the world, established by Lord Inchiquin in 1720, which survives today as the Royal Cork Yacht Club. Crenellated form contrasts with later buildings which surround it. Its survival is a testament to its skilled construction. Features such as parapet, voussoirs and window surrounds enliven façade. Arch to site adds context and further interest.