1820 - 1840
Attached five-bay single-storey house, built c.1830, with gabled central bay, three-bay wing to east and two-storey gabled return to rear. Pitched slate roof with rendered chimneystacks, overhanging eaves, decorative timber bargeboards and eaves boards with cusped, trefoil and quatrefoil ornamentation, timber finial to gable, gabled dormer to eastern wing with finial and cusped and trefoil timberwork with tiny square opening. Cast-iron rainwater goods. Smooth rendered walls with raised plinth. Tudor-arched window openings with hood mouldings springing from foliated stops, limestone sills and six-over-six pane timber sliding sash windows with cusped heads to the top three panes. Square-headed opening over front door with fixed trefoil-headed timber window and render hood moulding with foliated stops. Tudor-arched door opening set in moulded render surround comprising hood moulding resting on engaged shafts with capitals to timber panelled door having overlight with trefoil detailing, limestone threshold and cast-iron bootscraper. Roughcast rendered boundary wall with of square-profile ashlar piers with plinth and capping stones at pedestrian entrance with limestone step and cast-iron gate. Recent smooth rendered piers and sweep walls to vehicular entrance.
A very special example of the 'Strawberry Hill Gothic' style which incorporates the decorative elements of Gothic architecture but none of the structural aspects. The cusped motif and ogee heads contribute to the picturesque quality of the house which encapsulates the aspirations of a nineteenth century suburban retreat. The house contributes to and defines the character of this area. The house also has historical importance because of its association with the mathematician George Boole.