In Use As
1750 - 1790
Eight-arch stone road bridge, built c.1770, carrying the Portarlington Tullamore road over the River Barrow, linking Counties Offaly and Laois. Random rubble construction. Abutments and piers underpinned with concrete. Semicircular profile arches. V-shaped cutwaters to up and downstream sides. Roughly worked voussoirs to arch-rings, guniting to soffits. Modified on the upstream side in the 1800s, widened in the 1900s to accommodate footpaths on both sides, altered in c.1970 with the removal of parapets and the laying of new concrete at road level which extends over both sides and is surmounted by a metal balustrade.
Barrow Bridge, as the only eight-arch bridge in the County Offaly, still contributes to the riverscape and is an element in Portarlington's built heritage. Below the modern oversailing concrete superstructure can be seen the original walls and arch-rings of Barrow Bridge. The most notable features of this random coursed stone bridge are the crudely executed voussoirs and arch-rings. The unique character of this structure, linking counties Laois and Offaly, is only enjoyed from the banks of the river due to the major alteration at the upper level.