Fáilte/Welcome | Feedback | Site Maprssfacebookicon
Loading

Main Record - Limerick City

 
Additional Images     View location on map
print-icon   Print This Page
O'Dwyer's Bridge, Athlunkard Street, Limerick, Limerick City
21508018
Elevation of Bridge from South
Reg. No.21508018
Date1930 - 1935
Previous NameN/A
Townland
CountyLimerick City
Coordinates158246, 157720
Categories of Special InterestARCHITECTURAL TECHNICAL
RatingRegional
Original Usebridge
In Use Asbridge
 
Description
Five-span hump-back reinforced concrete bridge, built in 1931, spanning the Abbey River, with balustrade punctuated by panelled rendered piers. Concrete piers with lateral supporting struts between, triangular timber-framed cutwaters. Abutment piers have a monumental appearance. Architectural detailing only to parapet facing river. Bronze plaque reads: 'This bridge is dedicated to the memory of the Most Rev.d Dr. E.T. O'Dwyer Bishop of Limerick (1886-1917) an honorary Freeman of the City in recognition of his great services to Church and Country A.D. 1931. Alderman Patrick Donnellan Mayor, J.J. Roughan Engineer, J.J. Peacocke City Surveyor, William M. Nolan Town Clerk.'

Appraisal

An early example of a concrete bridge, made more interesting by the timber breakwaters, giving the bridge a brutalist picturesque quality. It was built near the site of a previous bridge, called Park Bridge, which had been built in 1835.
 
Back To Results