Fáilte/Welcome | Feedback | Site Maprssfacebookicon
Loading

Main Record - Fingal

 View location on map print-icon   Print This Page
Saint Marnock's Church (Portmarnock), Old Road, Portmarnock, Fingal
11350030
Representative view
Reg. No.11350030
Date1785 - 1790
Previous NameN/A
TownlandPORTMARNOCK
CountyFingal
Coordinates322630, 242936
Categories of Special InterestARCHITECTURAL ARTISTIC HISTORICAL SOCIAL
RatingRegional
Original Usechurch/chapel
 
Description
Detached three-bay double-height Board of First Fruits Church of Ireland church, built 1786-8; consecrated 1790, on a rectangular plan comprising two-bay double-height nave opening into single-bay double-height apse (east) on a bowed plan with single-bay four-stage tower to entrance (west) front on a square plan. Closed, 1960. Now disused. Pitched slate roof; half-conical slate roof (apse), clay ridge tiles, and cast-iron rainwater goods on rendered eaves retaining cast-iron downpipes. Lime rendered coursed rubble stone battered walls with concealed flush quoins to corners; lime rendered surface finish (tower) with battlemented parapet. Pointed-arch window openings with cut-granite sills, timber Y-mullions, and concealed dressings framing fixed-pane fittings. Lancet openings (tower) with cut-granite sills, and concealed dressings framing louvered timber fittings. Set in own grounds.

Appraisal

A church erected with financial support from the Board of First Fruits (fl. 1711-1833) representing an important component of the late eighteenth-century ecclesiastical heritage of north County Dublin with the architectural value of the composition suggested by such attributes as the standardised nave-with-entrance tower plan form, aligned along a liturgically-correct axis; the "pointed" profile of the openings underpinning a contemporary Georgian Gothic theme; and the monolithic battlements embellishing the stepped tower as a picturesque eye-catcher in the landscape.
 
Back To Results